Skip to main content
← All insights

Explainers ·

How Much Equity Does a Venture Studio Take?

Published studio stakes run from a 17% median to 80%. The spread isn't disagreement - it's different models measured at different moments. What to check instead.

There is no single venture studio rate. The best-sourced figures available run from a 17% median in a 2024 deal-level study to 80% at the top of an industry survey’s range - and both are accurate. The spread is not the market disagreeing with itself. It is four different things being measured and then quoted as though they were the same number: different studio models, different moments in a company’s life, different definitions of “investment,” and different statistical measures.

The practical consequence is that the headline percentage tells you almost nothing on its own. What tells you something is the model you are dealing with, the moment the stake is measured, how much of the studio’s “investment” is cash rather than its own invoice, and a handful of contract terms that never appear in the pitch.

What is the typical venture studio equity stake by model?

The single most useful finding is that the enormous range collapses once you split studios by what they actually do. Vault Fund’s Venture Studio Primer (2022) does exactly that:

  • Commercialization studios - those building companies around licensed university or laboratory IP - take “generally between 40-80% initially.”
  • Early-stage incubators - those recruiting external founders who arrive with their own idea - sit at “generally 10-20%.”

The reason is in the primer: a commercialization studio is contributing the underlying intellectual property itself, licensed from a research institution. An incubator is contributing capital and support to someone else’s idea. Those are different products, and they are priced differently.

So “venture studios take 30%” is not a market rate. It is an average across businesses that have little in common beyond the word on the door.

Why do published venture studio equity ranges disagree?

SourcePublished figureMeasured when / on whatEvidence quality
Hexa (eFounders), “Deal” page, updated Dec 202533.33% at incorporation; 25% in its post-seed illustrationBoth, stated explicitlyPrimary - the studio’s own published terms
Hexa, “Is Hexa worth 30%?”, Sep 202430% after seed; ~€800k over the first 12 monthsPost-seed, historicalPrimary, superseded by the above
GSSN, Disrupting the Venture Landscape, 2020avg ~34%, low 15%, high ~80%“Upon the day a company is founded”Industry-association survey; sample for this figure unstated
Vault Fund, Venture Studio Primer, 202240–80% commercialization; 10–20% early-stage incubatorInitial ownership, split by modelFund taxonomy - descriptive ranges
Harvard Business Review (Steve Blank), Dec 202230%–80%Not statedPractitioner essay; no cap-table detail
Max Pog, Big Startup Studios Research 202320%–40% typicalNot stated - a practitioner characterisationSelf-published industry research
Malyy, Pog et al., Big Venture Studio Research 202417% median; IQR 12–23%; p10–p90 5.5%–36%Realized pre-seed deals - 38 deals, 23 studiosDeal-level dataset; narrow, selected sample
Moiana, Ghezzi & Rangone, Business Horizons, 202615%–75%14 Italian studiosPeer-reviewed; geographically concentrated
Alloy Partners, 202620%–60%Not statedVendor content; no source cited
Alder VC15%–50%, “many default to 30–40%”At incorporationVendor content; house opinion

Read that table and three separate problems come into focus.

The same deal is two different numbers

Hexa - the studio behind eFounders, and one of the very few that publishes its full terms - takes 33.33% at incorporation. Its own worked example shows it holding 25% after a seed round. Both are true simultaneously. A founder describing “a third” and an investor describing “a quarter” can be looking at the identical agreement.

Hexa’s own figures have also moved: a September 2024 post described 30% after seed against roughly €800,000 committed over twelve months; the December 2025 deal page describes 33.33% at incorporation against €700,000. There is no single timeless “Hexa takes X%.” There is a dated figure, measured somewhere specific.

Almost no published range tells you which basis it used. Ranges built from mixed bases cannot be averaged, and the averages in circulation were built from mixed bases.

“Investment” is not the same as cash

This is the finding that should change how you read every studio pitch.

Hexa commits €700,000 per company for its 33.33%. Its own breakdown: €400,000 is invoiced by Hexa for its services - strategy, go-to-market, product, design, legal, recruiting, finance - and €300,000 is cash placed in the company’s bank account to cover founder compensation, early salaries, tools and operating costs.

So roughly 57% of the headline investment is the studio’s own labour, priced by the studio. The company never sees it as spendable money.

None of that is a criticism of Hexa. Hexa is the transparent case: it publishes the split, which is the only reason this analysis is possible. The problem is everyone else. A studio putting €700,000 of cash in for a third, and a studio putting €300,000 of cash plus €400,000 of its own time in for a third, have written very different deals - and both will report the same percentage.

Two consequences founders routinely miss:

  • Nobody independently prices the services line. When a studio contributes work rather than money, the studio values that work. There is no accounting convention, disclosure requirement or third-party valuation governing it.
  • The chargeback is a real transaction with real consequences. Money the company pays back to the studio for services is an operating expense of the company and revenue of the studio. It changes the net value actually transferred into the venture, and it has accounting and tax treatment worth putting in front of your own accountant before signing.

The reconciliation to demand, in this order: gross financing → studio invoices → other committed spend → cash actually available for the operating plan. Without it, the same economic contribution gets counted three times - as investment, as free services, and as salary support.

The statistics answer different questions

The clearest illustration comes from one publisher contradicting itself on basis. The same research outfit published “20–40% typical” in 2023 as a practitioner characterisation, and a 17% median in 2024 derived from 38 actual pre-seed deals across 23 studios. Those are not a revision. They are a characterisation and a measurement, and the 2024 sample deliberately looked only at realized investments - companies that had exited or failed - while excluding corporate builders.

An average, a median, an interquartile range and a practitioner’s “typical” are four different claims. None of them is a fair price for the deal in front of you. And a falling headline number is not evidence that studios got cheaper.

Does the headline equity percentage matter at all?

There is a strong objection to everything above, and it deserves its own hearing, because at one specific decision it beats the non-comparability argument outright.

From a downstream investor’s point of view, the headline percentage is directly comparable - because it defines a fundability ceiling.

An institutional seed or Series A investor does not adjust its required ownership target based on what a studio contributed two years earlier. It needs its 15–20%, and it needs the operating founders to still hold enough equity to stay motivated through several hard years. In that frame, a 40% studio stake is functionally identical to any other 40% stake: both consume the same finite budget of allowable early dilution. Whether that 40% bought cash, services, licensed IP or encouragement is, to the next investor, beside the point.

So both things are true, at different moments:

  • When you are judging whether a deal is fair, the consideration is everything and the percentage alone is meaningless.
  • When you are judging whether you will be able to raise again, the percentage is close to everything and the consideration barely registers.

Which raises the obvious question: how much is enough?

How much founder equity should be left after a studio deal?

This is where the argument can actually be settled, and it is settled with data that has nothing to do with studios.

Carta’s Founder Ownership Report 2026 (Peter Walker and Kevin Dowd, March 2026), drawn from funding rounds raised between 2021 and 2025, finds that the median founding team retains about 56% of fully diluted equity by the time it raises a seed round, and about 36% by Series A.

That is the corridor to judge a studio offer against - and it is far more forgiving than the alarmist version of this conversation suggests.

Work it through. Take a company founded with the operating founders on 60%, the studio on 30% and a 10% employee pool, then a seed round and a Series A each selling 20% of the company:

HolderAt foundingAfter seedAfter Series A
Operating founders60%48%38.4%
Studio30%24%19.2%
Employee pool10%8%6.4%
Seed investors-20%16%
Series A investors--20%

Illustration only, on the stated assumptions: no pool increases, convertibles, secondaries or follow-on purchases.

The founders land at 38.4% - slightly above Carta’s 36% median at Series A. A 30% studio stake, on these assumptions, leaves a founding team in entirely ordinary territory.

Two things follow, and both are worth more than any range.

Dilution compounds; it does not subtract. The studio goes 30% → 24% → 19.2%, which is 30% × 80% × 80%. This also means gaps narrow rather than persist: a founder starting beside a 25% studio stake and one starting beside a 40% stake begin 15 points apart and end roughly 9.6 points apart after two rounds. The early number still matters more than any later one, but it does not matter in a straight line, and anyone presenting it as a fixed deduction is modelling it wrong.

The question has a number now. Not “is 30% fair?” - which is unanswerable - but “does this stake leave me inside the 56% / 36% corridor after realistic rounds?” That question has an answer, and you can calculate it before you sign.

How does the studio’s stake behave when you raise?

In the standard structure, the studio dilutes alongside you. Hexa states it directly: founders and Hexa “are diluted in exactly the same way.” Being called a studio does not create a separate dilution rule.

What a studio typically does hold, and what each thing means:

Pro-rata rights - the right to buy more shares in a later round to maintain its percentage. This is standard, and it is an option to invest, not a guarantee and not an obligation to fund.

There is a trap inside it that founders almost never see coming. A studio holding 24% that exercises full pro-rata in a Series A consumes 24% of the round’s allocation - which can crowd out the new lead investor who needs 15–20% to justify leading at all. Uncapped pro-rata cuts both ways: exercised, it squeezes out your lead; declined, it sends a negative signal to the market about what your closest insider thinks.

This is precisely why Hexa caps its own participation at 20% of the securities issued in a round - a deliberate structural choice that guarantees an outside lead has room. It is the single most founder-friendly term on its published sheet, and it is worth asking any studio to match.

Price-based anti-dilution - a conversion-price adjustment on preferred shares when the company later issues shares more cheaply. Broad-based weighted average is ordinary; full ratchet is aggressive. Critically, this is not a promise to hold a percentage forever. It adjusts conversion in a down round.

A contractual ownership floor - and this is the term to hunt for. A promise that the studio’s percentage cannot be diluted by early rounds or option pools until some milestone is a completely different animal from standard anti-dilution. It forces the entire burden of early dilution onto the founders, and it is a deal-breaker for serious follow-on investors. “Standard anti-dilution” is not an adequate explanation of such a clause. Ask who absorbs the dilution, which issuances trigger it, and when it ends.

A board seat and consent rights, commonly from the seed round onward, often matched to the lead seed investor’s.

One more that rarely gets counted: a studio can hold equity through more than one vehicle - the operating company, an affiliated fund, partners, SAFEs or notes. Ask for combined studio-related ownership at a single consistent point in time. Do not add percentages quoted before and after different rounds.

How does the option pool change the real cost of a studio stake?

Two offers at an identical 30% can still differ materially, because of when the employee option pool is created.

A 10–15% pool established pre-money dilutes the existing common holders - which in practice means the founders - before the new investor buys in. A pool established post-money dilutes everyone proportionally, studio included.

So a studio taking 30% on a cap table carrying a 15% pre-money pool is taking a materially larger economic bite out of the founder’s position than a studio taking 30% where the pool is created post-seed. Same headline number, different deal. Investors treat the pool as a pricing term for exactly this reason; so should you.

What should you check before signing a venture studio deal?

In this order. The percentage is the last thing to negotiate, not the first.

  1. Which model is this, actually? Commercialization studio licensing outside IP, incubator backing your idea, or a services business with an equity line? Classify the transaction, not the label.
  2. Is the stake quoted at incorporation or post-seed? Get both, dated.
  3. Of the stated investment, how much is cash in the company’s account and how much is the studio’s invoice? Ask for the split in writing, as Hexa publishes it. Then run the reconciliation down to cash available for the plan.
  4. Who priced the services, against what benchmark? If the answer is “we did, internally,” that is the answer - just know it, and show the chargeback to your accountant.
  5. Who owns the IP and code from day one - and what happens if this fails? If the company fails or you leave during the studio period, does the IP stay with the company or revert to the studio? Get the assignment documented; paying for development is not the same as owning the output.
  6. What are the vesting and bad-leaver terms? Four-year vesting with a one-year cliff is ordinary. The question is the definition of a bad leaver: if the studio removes you as CEO in month eight, can it repurchase your equity at nominal value?
  7. Who controls the board and what needs studio consent? A studio with 30% plus two of three board seats has operational control regardless of the percentage. Ask what requires consent - hiring executives, a pivot, raising debt, issuing the pool.
  8. Pro-rata: capped or uncapped? Any ownership floor? Capped pro-rata protects your next round. An ownership floor is the red flag.
  9. Is the option pool created pre-money or post-money?
  10. What does my ownership look like after realistic seed and Series A rounds - and is it inside 56% / 36%? Make them model it. If they will not, model it yourself.
  11. What survives the studio period? Hexa’s is about twelve months. Which people transfer, which accounts and systems are yours, and what does operating independently cost once the studio’s team stops doing the work?

A founder who can answer those has a deal they understand. A founder who knows only the percentage has a number.

Key takeaways

  • There is no venture studio market rate. Published figures run from a 17% median (38 realized pre-seed deals, 2024) to 80% (industry survey high, 2020). Both are correct about different things.
  • The range collapses by model. Commercialization studios licensing research IP take 40–80%; incubators backing external founders take 10–20%, per Vault Fund’s 2022 primer. That single split explains most of the apparent chaos.
  • The same deal has two honest values. Hexa’s is 33.33% at incorporation and 25% post-seed. Always ask which you are being quoted, and on what date.
  • A studio’s “investment” often includes its own invoice. Hexa discloses roughly 57% of its €700k as services rather than cash. Most studios disclose nothing.
  • Judge the stake against a real benchmark, not a range. Carta’s 2026 data puts the median founding team at ~56% after seed and ~36% after Series A. Ask whether the offer leaves you inside that corridor.
  • Dilution compounds, it doesn’t subtract - 30% × 80% × 80% = 19.2% - so early gaps narrow over rounds rather than persisting intact.
  • The terms that matter most are not the percentage: capped versus uncapped pro-rata, any ownership floor, pre- versus post-money option pool, IP reversion, bad-leaver clawback, and board control.

Frequently asked questions

How much equity does a venture studio take?

There is no single rate. The best-sourced figures range from a 17% median across 38 realized pre-seed deals (Big Venture Studio Research 2024) to an average of roughly 34% at the day of founding with a high near 80% (GSSN, 2020). The ranges are not comparable, because some are measured at incorporation and some after a seed round, and because studio models differ enormously - commercialization studios licensing research IP take 40–80%, while incubators backing external founders take 10–20%.

Is a 30% venture studio stake normal?

It is well within every published range and close to the most commonly cited average. Whether it is reasonable depends on what the studio contributes: how much cash actually reaches the company, who priced any services charged back, how long the support lasts, and what terms sit alongside the percentage. On standard assumptions, a 30% studio stake leaves founders near 38% after a seed and a Series A - slightly above Carta’s 36% median for founding teams at Series A.

Does the venture studio get diluted when I raise?

In the standard structure, yes, on the same terms as the founders - Hexa states founders and the studio “are diluted in exactly the same way.” Confirm it in your own documents, and check separately for any clause guaranteeing the studio a minimum percentage until a milestone, which would push the whole burden of early dilution onto you.

Will investors treat a venture studio on my cap table as a red flag?

Not inherently. What investors examine is whether enough equity remains with the people who have to execute, and whether the studio’s rights leave room for a new lead investor. Uncapped pro-rata and ownership-floor clauses cause more problems than a large percentage by itself. The 2026 Business Horizons study names the underlying worry as the “phantom founder” problem - a company, rather than a person, occupying the founder’s seat.

Do venture-studio startups really raise faster and succeed more often?

The widely quoted figures - seed in 1.49 years versus 3.03, and 72% reaching Series A versus 42% - come from Big Startup Studios Research 2023, based on studios reporting on themselves. Failed studios do not answer surveys, and the comparison is not like-for-like: a studio’s clock starts only on concepts that already survived internal validation, while the comparison group includes every organic startup from day one. The peer-reviewed treatment of the model (Business Horizons, 2026) presents no empirical evidence that studio-built companies outperform. Treat the outperformance case as unproven rather than established.

Where Rep2Owner fits

If you are a sales professional weighing whether to own something instead of continuing to sell someone else’s product, the equity question comes second. The first is what you are actually trying to end up owning. Start with the pillar, how to go from sales rep to business owner, then look at what a venture studio actually does for you, day to day. The phase pages carry the current terms: The Backroom ™, Prep to Launch ™ and Build to Exit ™.

Rep2Owner is the venture studio turning proven sales reps into owners, operating from Tampa, FL. If you want to know what a stake in your business would buy - in writing, with the split itemised - see if you qualify.

Any performance or income figures mentioned anywhere on this site are illustrative and unaudited, and are not a promise of results.

Sources

  • Carta. Founder Ownership Report 2026, Peter Walker & Kevin Dowd, published 12 March 2026 (rounds raised 2021–2025).
  • Malyy, M., Pog, M. & contributors. Big Venture Studio Research 2024, published 17 December 2024.
  • Moiana, D., Ghezzi, A., & Rangone, A. (2026). “Venture studios beyond the hype: Key challenges and a way forward.” Business Horizons, 69(4), 575–589.
  • Hexa (eFounders). “Start Deal,” hexa.com/start/deal, last updated 16 December 2025.
  • Global Startup Studio Network. Disrupting the Venture Landscape: Why the Startup Studio Model is Where to Place Your Bets, 2020.
  • Vault Fund. Venture Studio Primer, 2022.
  • Blank, S. (13 December 2022). “Entrepreneurs, Is a Venture Studio Right for You?” Harvard Business Review.
  • Pog, M. Big Startup Studios Research 2023, published 4 September 2023.
  • Alder VC. “Venture Studio Equity: What the Cap Table Actually Looks Like.”
  • Alloy Partners. “Venture Studio vs. Venture Capital,” 2026.

Notes on evidence. The GSSN figures come from an industry-association survey whose sample for the equity statistic is not stated. The Business Horizons equity range is drawn from 14 Italian studios and may not generalise - southern European studios have been observed taking higher stakes where early-stage venture capital is scarcer. Big Venture Studio Research 2024’s 17% median rests on 38 deals from 23 studios, selected for realized outcomes and excluding corporate builders; it is a narrow sample, not a census of formation cap tables. Alloy Partners and Alder VC are vendor-published content and cite no underlying data; they appear here for completeness, not as evidence. The dilution tables are illustrations on stated assumptions, not market statistics. Nothing here is legal, tax or investment advice.

Opt-Out Preference Signal Honored We detected a Global Privacy Control signal from your browser and have processed it as a request to opt out of the sale or sharing of your personal information. Only strictly necessary cookies are in use on this device. See our Privacy Policy.